|
Pages: 1
|
 |
|
Author
|
Topic: Weird Post on COTH (Read 755 times)
|
TwinGates
ata
Old Hand
    
Offline
Posts: 1,896

Performance Matters!
|
This makes absolutley no sense to me. The only post from this person (or persons, given the plural of the name), no website given. Who would just start buying semen w/o any qualifying criteria other than breed and w/o a business website?
Does it strike anyone else as weird? http://www.chronofhorse.com/forum/showthread.php?t=246326
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
acottongim
ata
Old Hand
    
Offline
Posts: 1,254

I love Trakehners!
|
I thought it was odd too... I actually have thought about posting and asking who it is. What is even odder is they claim to be a business (presumably to buy/sell semen) but they don't give a website?
I know it says FL but it isn't anyone I know down here!!!
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
|
stoicfish
FEI
  
Offline
Posts: 155
I love Trakehners!
|
Is it common for a proper business to get semen from just anyone? Would you not have to test each vile to make sure it is from "that" sire? And how could you verify the fertility if you do not know how it has been handled. I can't figure out what the angle could be?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Elfe
ata
FEI
  
Offline
Posts: 116
I love Trakehners!
|
Probably just somebody trying to make a buck, figuring that given the economy they might get a good deal on semen that they can resell when things pick up. Wouldn't be surprised if the thread disappears, since COTH does not allow selling or buying outside of classifieds. Maybe someone with spare time get get in touch with the poster and find out what the deal is.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
acottongim
ata
Old Hand
    
Offline
Posts: 1,254

I love Trakehners!
|
What is more interesting is that they are "targeting" the trakehners and breeds that the ATA/Verband approve... (t'bred, arab etc). Makes me very suspicious because most reputable dealers (that I'm aware of) aren't that breed specific...
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
ChezRisetteFarm
ata
FEI
  
Offline
Posts: 193

|
Hummm...Sounds like this could be a scam
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
TwinGates
ata
Old Hand
    
Offline
Posts: 1,896

Performance Matters!
|
Agree with all of you - this seems fishy at best; a scam at worst.
I'm offended by the use of American Trakehners as their forum name. This co-opts the good name of U.S.-bred Trakehners, their breeders and the ATA to create a halo of credibility.
Okay, off my soap box I guess (can you tell interlopers are a BIG pet peeve of mine?)
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
|
Joy
ata
Old Hand
    
Offline
Posts: 1,270

I love Trakehners!
|
Seems to me that someone with a login on COTH could, and probably should, report this to the moderator. In addition, using the name "American Trakehners" could definitely cause confusion to some, as they have definitely coopted the name.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
fuzzy
ata
Old Hand
    
Offline
Posts: 590

I love Trakehners!
|
Might be copyright infringement that should be brought to the attention of an officer of the ATA
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
acottongim
ata
Old Hand
    
Offline
Posts: 1,254

I love Trakehners!
|
Well this is interesting...... Amazing what comes up on these boards sometimes LOL.
Thread that was mentioned on COTH about the SHN Payback with a link to this thread: http://forums.arabianbreeders.net/topic/33878-shn-payback-has-a-new-website/
Allengloss's website (garnered from COTH): http://www.allanglos.net/
Seems like there was a bit of a falling out between the orig organizer of the SHN payback (peggy) and Laura (aka allengloss). May have been some shady dealings....
So who is jumping in line to donate semen to allengloss? LOL.
As for copyright infringement.. that may be stretching things a bit as it isn't "American Trakehner Association" although I do get the confusion sentiment! Also I do believe that the thread on COTH is dead and buried. But lesson learned about being careful what you post!!!!
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Pages: 1
|
|
|
|
|